Shallow & Deep Depth

Using aperture priority is great to control the subject in the background. I have learned a lot taking a different type of pictures this week. It was great and inspiring especially when it is looking great. Shallow is mostly having the subject in focus while the background is blurred. In addition, deep depth is where one is close but the other is far and the whole picture is the focus and not blurry. I had to try several shots in order to understand that and what I was doing right and wrong. I am loving photography by itself using manual settings for my camera.

Shallow Depth

For this picture, I had set up my camera to take this rose while the back was different from it which I really liked and that was during class. The second and third pictures I choose was from school garden by the Taylor building which I love because of the purple color and both I edited in Lightroom. I wanted their color to really show up like they looked to me.

Shallow Depth-Pink Flower

Pink Rose – 10/3/2018, 2:59:36 PM -School by Spori Building –  Focal Length – 113mm. F/stop (aperture) – 5.6. Shutter Speed  – 1/25-ISO 400.

Yellow Leaf- Shallow Depth

Yellow Leaf – 10/8/2018, 5:30:36 PM -BYUI Garden –  Focal Length – 55mm. F/stop (aperture) – 5.6. Shutter Speed  – 1/30-ISO 100.

Purple Flower- Shallow Depth

Purple Flower – 10/8/2018, 5:15:12 PM -BYUI Garden –  Focal Length – 55mm. F/stop (aperture) – 5.6. Shutter Speed  – 1/4-ISO 100.

Deep Depth

For this one, I wanted to be creative with what was around me and decided to take pictures of lamb post or trees that were closer than other things were further away. For the first picture, I choose this one as the light into that garden was beautiful and the image is not blurry but it is sharp letting the light in. The second picture, I saw this table and it was just perfect taking a shot of it with no one there and the trees behind it. The last one was great, I love the arch in wood and I had an object which was close to me and a further one at the same time. Those were a great experience to just go and take pictures and edit them which I am still getting used to but I am loving it.

Lamb post garden- deep depth

Light Poll in Garden – 10/8/2018, 5:40:21PM -BYUI Garden –  Focal Length – 18mm. F/stop (aperture) – 5.6. Shutter Speed  – 1/60-ISO 400.

Table and Chairs in Garden- Deep depth

Table and chairs in Garden – 10/8/2018, 6:01:24 PM -BYUI Garden –  Focal Length – 23mm. F/stop (aperture) – 5.6. Shutter Speed  – 1/30 -ISO 100.

Garden with arch- deep depth

Garden Arch – 10/8/2018, 5:08:34 PM -BYUI Garden –  Focal Length – 18mm. F/stop (aperture) – 5.6. Shutter Speed  – 1/200 -ISO 800.

One thought on “Shallow & Deep Depth

Leave a comment